The role of the Jury of the European Union Contest for Young Scientists is of the utmost importance. The Jury assesses and scores the competing projects based on their written description (before the Contest) and through interviews with the Contestants carried out at the exhibition during the Contest. The Jury then draws up the list of winners of the different prizes and awards of the Contest. The members of the Jury carry out all their duties as independent scientific experts, not as representatives of any institution or country.
Since the European Commission took over the running of the European Union Contest for Young Scientists in 1989, the position of President of the Jury has been held by:
    • Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer, Trinity College Cambridge, 1989-1991
    • Professor Galo Ramirez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, 1992-1994
    • Professor Gisela Anton, Universitat Nurnberg, 1995-1996
    • Professor Sue Kingsman, Trinity College Oxford, 1997
    • Professor Pedro Guerreiro, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, 1998-1999
    • Professor Pauline Slosse, Universite Libre de Bruxelles,2000-2002
    • Dr Ulf Merbold, ESA/ESTEC Noordwijk, 2003-2005
    • Professor Jane Grimson, Trinity College Dublin, 2006 and 2008
    • Professor Hansen Vagn Lundsgaarg, Technical University of Denmark, 2007
    • Professor Chris Phillips, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom, 2009
    • Professor Hagit Messer-Yaron, The Open University of Israel, Israel, 2010
    • Professor Maria Ana Viana-Baptista, Lisbon Engineering Institute, 2011-2012
The Jury for the 2013 contest will be announced in the contest book.


Main media partner

cesky-rozhlas.jpg   ceska-televize.jpg